Consultation

Doing Business With FirstNet

Special Notice and Draft RFP documents and other procurement information available for vendors seeking to do business with us.Learn More >>

The law that established FirstNet requires it to consult with Federal, State, tribal, and local public safety entities to ensure that the FirstNet network is designed to meet the needs of public safety across the country. State, tribal and local consultation will be a collaborative process, involving key stakeholders and leadership from each state and territory, and will incorporate enhancements and improvements as they develop.

FirstNet will work through the designated single officer or governmental body during state and local planning consultation to gather requirements from key stakeholders for developing its deployment plan.

State and local planning consultation topics include:

  • Construction of a core network and any RAN build-out
  • Placement of towers
  • Coverage areas of the network, whether at the regional, state, tribal, or local levels
  • Adequacy of hardening, security, reliability, and resiliency requirements
  • Assignment of priority to local users
  • Assignment of priority and selection of entities seeking access to or use of the nationwide interoperable public safety broadband network and training needs of local users.

FirstNet began its state and local planning outreach efforts in mid-May 2013 with six regional workshops. Ten individuals from each state and territory, including some tribal representatives, participated in these interactive meetings, where they communicated their requirements, priorities and concerns to FirstNet. This initial phase of consultation provided FirstNet with valuable insights. We learned how unique the coverage needs are in each state and territory and how different local and regional incident policies and procedures can be at the local level. The workshops reinforced the value of the individual state consultations in gaining a more in-depth understanding of the needs of each state and territory.

  1. FirstNet is creating an education and outreach program to engage tribal leaders on the network and their public safety needs. In addition to encouraging the designated single officer or governmental body to include tribal nations in the FirstNet state consultation process, FirstNet plans to hold additional meetings with tribal representatives. Likewise, FirstNet will engage with a variety of federal agencies to determine how we can leverage their assets and expertise for the network.

    FirstNet Consultation Tracker Map.

  2. Building on the regional workshops, FirstNet has started to initiate individual visits to each of the states and territories to continue the dialog about building a broadband network dedicated to public safety. FirstNet will work through each designated state point of contact to arrange a visit, agree on the agenda and identify participants. Timing will depend on the State’s readiness, the State and Local Implementation Grant Program (SLIGP) Phase 1 activities, and how quickly FirstNet can fully staff its outreach team. The agenda for initial FirstNet visits will focus on roles and responsibilities, users and coverage needs. We will also discuss expectations for data collection and other state-specific issues. These meetings will pave the way for ongoing collaboration that will result in FirstNet’s development of 56 unique state deployment plans. For an update on the status of FirstNet’s state and territorial consultation meetings, please see the Consultation Meetings page.

  3. State decision process on RAN plans

    Members of the FirstNet outreach and design teams will work closely with the designated single officer or governmental body to develop and deliver a network deployment plan that meets their needs. FirstNet will then provide the Governor of each State or territory with a notice of the completion of the request for proposal process; the details of the proposed plan; and the funding level for the state or territory. Upon receipt of the plan, a Governor will have 90 days to choose whether to participate in the plan provided by FirstNet or conduct its own deployment of a radio access network. If a Governor decides to opt out, then he/she is required to notify FirstNet, NTIA, and the FCC. After providing the notification, the Governor has 180 days to develop and complete requests for proposals for the construction, maintenance and operation of the RAN within the State. The State is required to submit an alternative plan to the FCC that is interoperable with the NPSBN and complies with the minimum technical interoperability requirements under the Act.

  4. If the State’s plan is approved by the FCC, the state may apply for a grant from NTIA to construct the RAN. To obtain Federal funding for its RAN, the State must demonstrate it can:

    • Provide the technical capability to operate and fund the RAN
    • Maintain ongoing interoperability with the NPSBN
    • Complete the project within specified comparable timelines
    • Execute its plan cost effectively
    • Deliver security, coverage and quality of service comparable to the NPSBN

    There are additional funding implications if a state receives approval to build its own RAN:

    • States pay any fees associated with using FirstNet core elements
    • Grant program specifics are not developed yet
    • NTIA will determine eligible costs of the grant program, whether a match will be required, and funding levels
  5. If the state plan is not approved, the construction, operation and maintenance of the state RAN will proceed in accordance with the FirstNet plan. If a state receives approval to build its own RAN, the state then must apply to NTIA to lease spectrum capacity from FirstNet.

  6. Listed below are the State Single Points of Contact (SPOC) appointed by the governor of each state and territory. These are the individuals responsible for working with FirstNet in their state or territory.

    Alabama Spencer Collier 334-517-2815 chuck.murph@le.alacop.gov
    Alaska John Rockwell 907-269-2037 john.rockwell@alaska.gov
    American Samoa Jacinta Brown 684-733-6020 r.tulafono@asdhs.as.gov
    Arizona Michael Sherman 602-364-4794 michael.sherman@azdoa.gov
    Arkansas David Maxwell 501-683-6700 psbb@adem.arkansas.gov
    California Karen Wong 916-657-9482 karen.wong@CalOES.ca.gov
    Colorado Brian Shepherd 303-764-7826 brian.shepherd@state.co.us
    Connecticut Michael Varney 860-685-8146 michael.varney@ct.gov
    Delaware Mark Grubb 302-739-4207 mark.grubb@state.de.us
    District of Columbia Jack Burbridge 202-715-7536 jack.burbridge@dc.gov
    Florida Terry Rhodes 850-617-3100 terryrhodes@flhsmv.gov
    Georgia Joe McKinney 404-635-7514 joe.mckinney@gema.ga.gov
    Guam Bradley Hokanson 671-478-0284 bradley.hokanson@ghs.guam.gov
    Hawaii BG Arthur J. Logan 808-208-3606 victoria.garcia@hawaii.gov
    Idaho Brad Richy 208-422-3033 rfeeley@bhs.idaho.gov
    Illinois James Joseph 847-214-5252 joe.galvin@illinois.gov
    Indiana David Vice 317-232-8993 dvice@ipsc.in.gov
    IowaThomas Lampe 515-725-6113 lampe@dps.state.ia.us
    Kansas Jason Bryant 316-681-6265 jason.e.bryant6.nfg@mail.mil
    Kentucky Derek Nesselrode 502-782-2064 derek.nesselrode@ky.gov
    Louisiana Michael Edmonson 225-925-6118 pocla@la.gov
    Maine Lisa Leahy 207-592-0668 lisa.leahy@maine.gov
    Maryland Lori Stone 443-622-9637 lori.stone@maryland.gov
    Massachussetts Curtis Wood 617-274-5512 curtis.wood@state.ma.us
    Michigan David Behen 517-373-1004 behend@michigan.gov
    Minnesota Ramona Dohman 651-201-7176 mark.dunaski@state.mn.us
    Mississippi Vicki Helfrich 601-359-5333 information@wcc.ms.gov
    Missouri Bryan Courtney 573-522-9584 bryan.courtney@dps.mo.gov
    Montana Ron Baldwin 406-444-2700 rbaldwin@mt.gov
    Nebraska Ed Toner 402-471-3717 ed.toner@nebraska.gov
    Nevada George Molnar 702-486-4498 gmolnar@dps.state.nv.us
    New Hampshire John Stevens 603-223-8003 john.stevens@dos.nh.gov
    New Jersey Frederick Scalera 973-353-8284 fred.scalera@ohsp.state.nj.us
    New Mexico Darryl Ackley 505-476-3070 darryl.ackley@state.nm.us
    New York Bob Barbato 518-242-5000 rbarbato@dhses.ny.gov
    North CarolinaAllan Sadowski 919-413-9705 allan.sadowski@nc.gov
    North Dakota Mike Ressler 701-328-3190 mressler@nd.gov
    Northern Mariana Islands Marvin Seman 670-664-2216 mkseman@cnmihsem.gov.mp
    Ohio Stu Davis 614-466-6930 stu.davis@das.ohio.gov
    Oklahoma Ben Gherezgiher 405-521-6642 ben.gherezgiher@omes.ok.gov
    Oregon David Soloos 503-934-6940 david.soloos@oregon.gov
    Pennsylvania Major Diane Stackhouse 717-787-8596 distackhou@pa.gov
    Puerto Rico Miguel Rios 787-763-3424 mrios@prema.pr.gov
    Rhode Island Tom Guthlein 401-462-7121 thomas.guthlein@ema.ri.gov
    South Carolina Robert Steadman 803-896-4469 rsteadman@cio.sc.gov
    South Dakota Jeffrey Pierce 605-773-4347 jeff.pierce@state.sd.us
    Tennessee Ehrin Ehlert 615-743-4960 ehrin.ehlert@tn.gov
    Texas Todd Early 512-424-2121 todd.early@dps.texas.gov
    U.S. Virgin Islands Reuben Molloy 340-713-0354 ext 5500 reuben.molloy@bit.vi.gov
    Utah Steve Proctor 801-538-3700 sproctor@uca911.org
    Vermont Terry LaValley 802-241-5215 Terry.Lavalley@vermont.gov
    Virginia Adam Thiel 804-786-5351 adam.thiel@governor.virginia.gov
    Washington Bill Schrier 360-902-3574 bill.schrier@watech.wa.gov
    West Virginia Jimmy Gianato 304-558-5380 jimmy.j.gianato@wv.gov
    Wisconsin Dennis Powers 608-261-6267 powersdj@doj.state.wi.us
    Wyoming Troy Babbitt 307-777-5648 troy.babbitt@wyo.gov

  7. FirstNet delivered an initial state and local consultation package to each state and territory in preparation for in-person consultations. The package includes a readiness checklist with instructions, requested discussion topics, and the initial consultation meeting agenda. FirstNet will conduct follow-up conference calls with each state and territory to answer questions and provide clarifications.

Go to top