FirstNet Board Members Appointed by U.S. Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker: Member Statements

August 18, 2016

Today, Commerce Secretary Pritzker announced the appointment of the following individuals to serve on the Board of the First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet). The following Board members have provided statements on their appointments:

“I am pleased to be reappointed to the FirstNet Board for another term. It is truly an honor to be part of a team dedicated to helping public safety keep our communities safe.  As the Chair, I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Board, the FirstNet team, and Public Safety to meet our mission and deploy the Nationwide Public Safety Broadband Network (“Network”).
Sue Swenson

“I have been proud to be a part of the FirstNet Board as a representative for the fire service and I am honored to be reappointed for a term during which we will deploy the Network. Outreach to the public safety community has and will continue to be the key to FirstNet’s success – they asked for this network, and we are poised to deliver it to them.  This is an exciting time to be a part of FirstNet, and I look forward to continuing in my role as Vice Chair.”
Chief Jeff Johnson

“FirstNet’s mission is important to us all – helping our law enforcement officers, firefighters and paramedics keep us safe by modernizing their communications.  It’s an honor to be reappointed to the Board of FirstNet and to continue to be a part of a vital mission to drive technological innovation for public safety.”
Teri Takai

“It has been an honor to serve as a member of the FirstNet board as we worked to deliver the best wireless network to public safety at the best value. I’m looking forward to remaining of service in the interim and look forward to seeing the future successes of the innovative public-private partnership.”
Barry Boniface

Read the Department of Commerce’s announcement here.


Go to top