

FIRST REPONDER NETWORK AUTHORITY BOARD RESOLUTION 39 EXPRESSION OF THANKS TO BOARD MEMBERS JEFFREY JOHNSON, CRAIG FARRILL AND SUE SWENSON August 13, 2013

WHEREAS, Congress enacted the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012 (Act) which mandates the creation of a nationwide interoperable wireless broadband network that will enable police, firefighters, emergency medical service professionals, and other public safety officials to more effectively communicate and perform their missions;

WHEREAS, the Act creates the First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet), an independent authority within the Department of Commerce's National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), charged to take "all actions necessary" to build, deploy, and operate the network, in consultation with State, local, tribal, and territorial entities;

WHEREAS, on December 11, 2012, the FirstNet Board adopted a resolution (Board Resolution 16) to designate its Member, Jeffrey Johnson, as FirstNet's Acting User Advocacy Officer; and its Member Craig Farrill to serve as FirstNet's Acting Chief Technical Officer;

WHEREAS, on February 12, 2013, the Board adopted a Resolution (Resolution# 18) to authorize its member, Sue Swenson, to negotiate on FirstNet's behalf on spectrum lease agreements with the Broadband Technology Opportunities Program (BTOP) public safety recipients;

WHEREAS Sue Swenson has also been involved as FirstNet's point person concerning licensee spectrum management issues;

WHEREAS, Jeffrey Johnson, Craig Farrill and Sue Swenson have served in these management capacities with great diligence, skill and enthusiasm;

WHEREAS, the FirstNet Board has now hired a permanent General Manager, Deputy General Manager, Chief Financial Officer, Government Affairs Director, and key staff, whose responsibilities include many of the functions being led by Board members in acting capacities:

WHEARAS, today marks a key date of transition for FirstNet because there is a reduction in overlap between the Board of Directors and the FirstNet management team and the seating on the FirstNet Board committees by Chairman Ginn;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the FirstNet Board hereby extends its formal appreciation to Jeffrey Johnson for his extraordinary service and dedication as FirstNet's Acting User Advocacy Officer. . The Board also wishes to express its thanks to Sue Swenson for her tireless effort and dedication while leading FirstNet's BTOP negotiations and licensee spectrum management duties. It is with great thanks that the Board welcomes you back to assuming, once again, your traditional Board Member roles. We also want to acknowledge that Craig Farrill intends to return to his traditional Board Member role as soon as FirstNet hires a Chief Technical Officer. We continue to appreciate Craig serving as the Acting Chief Technical Officer.

I, the undersigned, Secretary of the First Responder Network Authority, do hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of a resolution adopted at a meeting of the Board of the First Responder Network Authority on August 13, 2013, at which a quorum was present and voted.

4 5

Uzoma Onyeije, Secretary