APCO 2021 logo; “APCO 2021; August 15-18|San Antonio, TX”; telecommunicator sits in front of monitors while taking a call.

Discover How FirstNet is Transforming the Future of Emergency Communications at APCO 2021

APCO International’s Annual Conference and Expo returns this year in San Antonio, Texas, and the First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet Authority) is excited to take part in the second-ever FirstNet track. From August 15-18, FirstNet Authority experts will lead and participate in panels and sessions highlighting how FirstNet is supporting public safety and emergency communications centers (ECCs) nationwide.

Join the FirstNet Authority team at one of the following sessions to learn about topics such as public safety apps, integrating drones into operations, advanced technology for ECCs, the FirstNet Authority Roadmap, emergency communications training using broadband, and more.

If you have additional questions or would like to learn more about how FirstNet benefits 9-1-1 and ECCs, visit FirstNet.gov/911 or email FirstNet Authority 9-1-1/emergency communications expert John Hunt. Also, be sure to visit the FirstNet, Built with AT&T, exhibit booth #1227.

Sunday, August 15

FIRSTNET CENTRAL: BRINGING SITUATIONAL AWARENESS AND LOCAL CONTROL INTO THE ECC

Voice Communications Domain Lead Amy Haukeness 

Situational Awareness Domain Lead Randy Kerr

9-10 a.m. CT/10-11 a.m. ET, Room 225AB

Discover the tools available for ECCs that can enhance situational awareness in the center or in tactical dispatch or TERT environments. From the Network Status Tool, the Uplift Request Tool, training resources, and more, you will hear how agencies have integrated FirstNet into ECC operations.

THE POWER OF INTEGRATION: PUBLIC SAFETY APPS INTO CADS AND ECCS DASHBOARDS

Voice Communications Domain Lead Amy Haukeness

1-2 p.m. CT /2-3 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

Apps bring first responders more capabilities in the field, providing access to more information and data. Find out how ECCs are integrating apps to augment current technologies and how these new data streams are managed.

THE FUTURE OF FIRSTNET BELONGS TO PUBLIC SAFETY

Senior Manager, North-West Region, Lesia Dickson

2:30-3:30 p.m. CT/3:30-4:30 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

The tragedies of 9/11 revealed fundamental problems with communication systems used by our nation’s first responders, and FirstNet was created to serve as public safety’s nationwide broadband network. Learn how FirstNet has transformed public safety communications and what the future holds.

Monday, August 16

EXPLORING FIRSTNET PUSH-TO-TALK WITH THE FIRSTNET AUTHORITY

Voice Communications Domain Lead Amy Haukeness

Senior Public Safety Advisor Kim Coleman

Situational Awareness Domain Lead Randy Kerr

10:30-11:30 a.m. CT/11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. ET, Exhibit Hall #242 (Presentation Theater)

Catch a live demonstration of FirstNet Push-to-Talk in the Presentation Theater. FirstNet Authority experts will highlight the capabilities of FirstNet Push-to-Talk, including group calls, private calls, and call back requests.

BUILDING RESILIENCY WITH FIRSTNET: ALTERNATE ECC OPERATIONS

Situational Awareness Domain Lead Randy Kerr

2-3 p.m. CT/3-4 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

As technology evolves, ECCs have expanded operations to secondary dispatch centers and deployed tactical dispatch teams when major events occur. Discover how FirstNet enables dispatch capabilities outside of traditional ECCs for agencies like the Collier County Sheriff’s Office in Florida.

FIRSTNET ENABLED OVERWATCH: HOW ECCS ARE USING BROADBAND DATA TO KEEP THEIR RESPONDERS SAFER

Senior Public Safety Advisor Kristi Wilde

3:30-4:30 p.m. CT/4:30 – 5:30 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

Mobile broadband enables technology that keeps responders safer. Hear from public safety professionals from Texas and Arizona as they detail how they are using broadband technology, such as Z-axis and Internet of Things (IoT), to protect the health and wellbeing of their teams.

THE INTERNET OF THINGS IS HAPPENING: HOW WILL IT AFFECT ECCS

Senior Public Safety Advisor Bill Schrier

1:30-2:30 p.m. CT/2:30-3:30 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

Sensors, cameras, and data analytics are now deployed throughout communities, turning cities “smart” and providing first responders with more information as they approach situations. Find out how IoT technology like smart watches, augmented intelligence, and body-worn video will change the speed and quality of information flowing into ECCs and how jurisdictions, like Rock Island County in Illinois, is incorporating this advanced technology into operations.

PUBLIC SAFETY INNOVATION: CONNECTING RESPONDERS IN THE FIELD USING DRONES AND MAPPING APPLICATIONS

User Experience Domain Lead Travis Hull

Senior Public Safety Advisor Tom Randall

3-4 p.m. CT/4-5 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

Drones can provide first responders with unparalleled views of incidents and emergencies. Hear from FirstNet Authority experts and Texas public safety professionals as they describe how integrating broadband and advanced drone and mapping technologies enables first responders to make more informed real-time decisions.

Wednesday, August 18

VOICE OF THE FUTURE!

Voice Communications Domain Lead Amy Haukeness

Senior Public Safety Advisor Kim Coleman

8:30-9:30 a.m. CT/9:30-10:30 a.m. ET, Room 225AB

Voice is the basis of first responder communications, and mobile broadband expands available voice comms capabilities. Learn about features such as FirstNet Push-to-Talk, integrating LTE with land mobile radio, and high-powered end user devices, and hear how the FirstNet Authority is working to continue to enhance voice comms for public safety.

R2: EMPOWERING FIRST RESPONDERS AND ECCS WITH TECHNOLOGY TO IMPROVE PUBLIC SAFETY

Senior Public Safety Advisor Bill Schrier

10-11 a.m. CT/11 a.m.-12 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

The R2 Network is a partnership between public safety, entrepreneurs, and investors to encourage the development of technologies for first responders. Hear from R2 project partners and find out how this initiative will benefit ECCs.

FIRSTNET ROADMAP: HOW RESPONDERS ARE INFORMING INVESTMENT IN AMERICA’S PUBLIC SAFETY NETWORK

Director of Roadmap Domains Jennifer Harder

User Experience Domain Lead Travis Hull

Voice Communications Domain Lead Amy Haukeness

Situational Awareness Domain Lead Randy Kerr

2-3 p.m. CT/3-4 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

At the FirstNet Authority, our experts translate public safety feedback into actionable improvements for the network. Learn more about FirstNet Authority Roadmap engagements, learnings, and accomplishments and discover how first responder input is guiding the evolution of public safety communications.

TEST, TEST, TEST, THIS IS ONLY A TEST: INTEGRATING ECCS AND BROADBAND INTO TRAINING AND EXERCISE SCENARIOS

Senior Public Safety Advisor Kristi Wilde

Director of Roadmap Domains Jennifer Harder

3:30-4:30 p.m. CT/4:30-5:30 p.m. ET, Room 225AB

Training and exercises allow public safety agencies to work through scenarios before they happen and identify needs and best practices. Find out how broadband can be incorporated into training and exercises for ECCs so that you are prepared for emerging technologies in dispatch and field operations.

The APCO 2021 website has information on how to register for the conference, details on the FirstNet track, and a full schedule of events.     

Learn more about how FirstNet is transforming public safety communications — contact your local FirstNet Authority Public Safety Advisor and sign up for our discipline newsletters. Follow us on TwitterFacebookInstagram, and LinkedIn for the latest FirstNet Authority updates.

For information on FirstNet products and services or to access your subscriber account, visit FirstNet.com.     

Share this post